Monday morning star count is back!

I am so happy that the Monday morning star count is back at http://www.lifeunderquilts.blogspot.co.uk

I discovered this paper piecing link party and a few short weeks later it was done. I am happy that it is back as I love to see what others are working on and it gives me inspiration as I work on my grandmother flower garden quilt.

I started in March of 2013 and am nearing completion of the basting and joining together of flowers. Here is a photo of the sections side by side, I am working on two sections and then will join them together so that I am not handling the entire quilt.

IMG_0815

I have enough colored flowers made

IMG_0818

And now need to make more of the cream flowers

IMG_0819

Sorry my colors are not true as these photos were taken at night.

Here is my travel kit, although I do most of my stitching at home in front of the television

IMG_0816

IMG_0817

I have not decided on a border as yet, I am leaning towards hand quilting this even though I know it will take me a few years.

 

10 thoughts on “Monday morning star count is back!

  1. Pamela says:

    How beautiful and traditional. I’m wanting to hand quilt mine also and can’t imagine how long it will take!

  2. Jessie says:

    You should definitely hand quilt it after all the hand work of putting it together! It’s going to be lovely.

  3. Elita Sharpe says:

    That is sooo pretty! I love the soft colours. It will be even more beautiful when you get it quilted and I’m sure you’ll enjoy the time stroking it in between. 🙂 Well done!

    http://busyneedle.ch

  4. Lindsay says:

    Wow, what time and love and talent you have dedicated to this quilt so far! I look forward to seeing more of it as it comes together.

  5. bookslistslife says:

    I’m also considering hand quilting mine, even tho I’ve never handquilted. Yours is very lovely.

  6. Allison says:

    Wow! You certainly have quite a bit accomplished and it is so beautiful. I like the idea of working in sections and as I am just starting to put pieces together I will follow your lead 🙂 Very impressive! I too would like to hand quilt mine when it is finished….but that may be a while so I could change my mind 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    • Judy Nichols says:

      I started to join flowers from the center out but worried that I was handling it too much.I saw on someone’s blog how the were making one row at at a time and I switched to that method and like it.

  7. Helen Beall says:

    I vote for hand quilting, too. Shows the time and care you have devoted to this beautiful quilt.

  8. jessica says:

    Wow! Look at how much you put together in just a few months! I’m glad you linked up so we can see you through to the end of this project. 🙂

Leave a Reply

