Slow hexie progress

I was busy last week and did not get much progress done on my grandmothers flower garden quilt.

I stitched the connecting hexagons to get this row ready to add.

IMG_0833

And then discovered that in order to keep the pattern, I need to make 10 more of these cream flowers so that I can add the last row of colored flowers and end with a cream row to be consistent with cream all around. I thought that I had made all of the flowers so its back to basting and making flowers for a while.

Currently the edge looks like this.

IMG_0834

I could add another cream hexie and 2 half hexies to make this be a straight edge , I will decide once I make the last of the rows.

IMG_0835

I did get this disappearing nine patch done over the last two weekends. So there was quilting being done.

floral disappearing nine patch

Linking up to Life Under quilts for the Monday Morning star count.

7 thoughts on “Slow hexie progress

  1. Jessica says:

    This looks great~ I’m a big fan of half-hexie usage to straighten hexie borders. I’m planning to do the same on my current quilt. Have fun basting the last of the flowers! Thanks for linking up~

  2. Adrienne says:

    Looking great! Must be exciting to be so close to finishing!

  3. Pamela says:

    Very nice! I am also deciding on the edges of the quilt now – borders or no borders?

  4. Aylin says:

    This will be so nice when finished 🙂

  5. Allison says:

    Wow…so close to finishing and it looks terrific! I like the half-hexies on the edge and that is how I think I am going to finish mine as well. So excited to see it coming together!

  6. Jessie says:

    I love your disappearing nine-patch!

    Sometimes it’s so hard for me to find the motivation to fill in those EPP edges…

    • judy5cents says:

      Thanks
      I don’t want to rush the finish just to get it done… but I am dreading the thought of how many hexagons and half hexagons I will have to make for the edges… not going to count just keep making them… leftovers will be the start of the next project!

Leave a Reply

