Scrap-A- Palooza October 2014

I am happy to be linking up to Oh Scrap at Quilting is more fun than housework

Scrappy quilts are my favorite kind of quilts and I have been loving reading all of Cynthia’s great ideas.

When I saw the Scrap- A- Palooza quilt for October, I knew that I had just the scraps for this project. For Christmas 2013 my husband had bought me a batik jelly roll and matching fat quarter pack. I made two double 4 patch lap quilts and still had a handful of scraps leftover just waiting for the right project to use them in.

double 4 patch batik quilt

Here is one of the double 4 patch quilts. I gave one as a wedding gift and kept the other for myself.

I cut the scraps into 2 1/2 inch pieces , chain pieced them together and alternated with long strips of cream to make this Scrap-A-Palooza quilt.

Quiltapalooza October 2014

I am loving this vertical striped quilt. It measures about 42 ” by 42″. I am not sure if I will keep it for a baby quilt, or perhaps add a hanging sleeve so that it can go on the wall. The back is a wild paisley print that I picked up at a thrift store and the orange binding was a sale fabric that I bought in Alaska.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am looking forward to seeing and making more Scrap quilts in 2015

 

 

5 thoughts on “Scrap-A- Palooza October 2014

  1. Well look at that lovely quilt! What a great use of those leftover scraps. The orange binding you used really frames it nicely. Thanks for sharing on Oh Scrap!

  2. That is so pretty! That scrap-a-palooza quilt is on my list to try too!

  3. Vicki in MN says:

    Love your scrappy quilts! I too am trying to use them up and linking with Cynthia for Oh Scrap-just the inspiration I needed.

  4. knitnkwilt says:

    Popping over from Oh Scrap! You know how WP puts related posts at the bottom? I saw “Fading Charms” and had to go look because I just finished mine. Yours looks good. As does your vertical rows of scraps alternated with cream. It would be lovely on a wall or perfect for a baby.

Leave a Reply

