Vintage Pillowcase Quilt

I have seen many vintage quilts made from sheets and knew that I wanted to make one. I decided that I would collect pillowcases instead of sheets so that I could have a large variety without ending up with too much extra yardage.

This turned out to be one of my favorite quilts

Vintage pillowcase quilt

It currently resides on my bed and just fits the top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually it will be replaced when I complete the Grandmother Flower Garden quilt, I am currently hand quilting around the flowers .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the texture that the straight line quilting adds and know that I will do more straight line quilting. I love that it is forgiving even when the lines aren’t straight!

I have a second pillowcase top pieced. I did this using a modified jelly roll technique so it went together quickly. I need to move some of the dark blue pieces, iron it well and get it ready to quilt. I found a vintage sheet for the back yesterday so I will be ready to quilt this soon. Now off to purchase more white thread as it uses a huge amount of thread … but its worth it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Linking up to Oh Scrap at Quilting is more fun than housework

3 thoughts on “Vintage Pillowcase Quilt

  1. What a wonderful idea for pillowcases. I love the soft and inviting feel your quilt has. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

  2. Jasmine says:

    Your quilt is so beautiful and snuggly looking. What a great idea to collect pillow cases instead of sheets.

  3. Linda Dutch says:

    Lovely quilt! yes totally agree about just collecting pillowcases, heaps more variety & perfect for a scrappy quilt! Linda

Leave a Reply

